REVIEW: This Is Where The World Ends

About the book:

This Is Where The World Ends by Amy Zhang 

Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance

Links: Goodreads // Book Depository // Booktopia 

Summary: 

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in a second novel.

(source)

(disclaimer: I was sent this book by Harper Collins Australia in exchange for an honest review)

overallnonspoilerreview

Rating: ★★★★½

I just want to start off by saying that I love Amy Zhang’s writing – she has a wonderful way of spinning words to make them read so beautifully. I don’t actually read a lot of contemporary fiction but after reading (and loving) Falling into Place, I thought I give this one a go and Amy Zhang did not disappoint.

Janie and Micah were such rich, multi-dimensional characters and beneath that, they had a relationship that was as problematic and complicated as it was interesting (which was very). I definitely recommend this book wholeheartedly, especially if you liked Falling into Place.

theplot

  • So we have a classic “then and now” plot, where the book splits its chapters between events that occurred before the particular event and after. I don’t want to say too much, lest I spoil anything, but I really enjoyed the format of the book and it did a lot in holding your attention –  I honestly didn’t want to put the book down!
  • Basically the only thing I didn’t like about this book was the ending/reveal but that is probably just me…

thecharacters

  • I have a really hard time getting into books if they have a unlikeable main character (in part the reason I really didn’t enjoy Looking for Alaska) but Janie was different – yeah she did some questionable things but she was just so whimsical and unique under it all that you kind of have to like her
  • I actually really like Micah as well because although you could clearly tell that he was in love with Janie, he had his own personality and his own character development and flaws
  • All in all, I adored reading from both their perspectives and getting a little glimpse into their lives

 

(about my reviews)

happyreading,jananee

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: This Is Where The World Ends

Leave a Reply

