Jananee Recommends: Completed Series

Hi all *waves*

So little secret about me: I used to never read ongoing series. LIKE NEVER. I am the most impatient person on the planet so waiting a year or more for books to come out was a non-option. I have since slowly trained myself to be a *smidge* more patient and so now I try not let the fact that a series is ongoing deter me from picking up a book (even though the struggle is still real).

That being said, sometimes I just want to binge read a series in 2 days and then cry about all my emotions, you feel me? Well for those that do, here are some suggestions of my favourite completed trilogies and series’ that are perfect binge read material!

 

The Historical Fantasy: The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare

tid

I personally prefer The Infernal Devices to The Mortal Instruments because you still get the diverse Shadowhunter world and mythology but with main characters that are much more three-dimensional and interesting, a 19th C steampunk setting that is fascinating and relationships that are so well developed, you end up loving everyone to pieces.

This trilogy is quite popular and for good reason, I definitely recommend that you pick it up if you enjoy YA fantasy/ urban fantasy and misunderstood male characters (WILL *heart eyes*)

 

Paranormal & Atmospheric: The Raven Cycle – Maggie Stiefvater

trc

 

This series finished very recently but I am so glad that I am able to include it in this list. This series is one of the most unique set of books that I have ever had the pleasure to read – it is so mystical and atmospheric and it is the PERFECT book to curl up with on a rainy day because it will transport you to magical lands. A perfect complement to the unique setting is the unique characters and Blue and her Raven Boys are so interesting to read about – especially to track their development through the series.

I promise you that The Raven Cycle will be like nothing you have ever read before!

 

The Sci-Fi: The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer

tlc

I picked up Cinder a few years ago and didn’t continue the series and I am SO GLAD that I decided to try it again because I LOVE these books to pieces. The series is a set of fairy tale retellings and Marissa Meyer keeps it from being too repetitive by throwing in a set of a lovable characters, cyborg and android elements (I know, cool right?) and some pretty gasp-worthy plot twists.

I personally think this series is a very character-driven story and they become kind of like family – the friendships and romances between the characters (*cough* CINDER AND KAI FOR LIFE *cough*) drags you into the world and makes you never want to leave.

 

The High Fantasy: Mistborn – Brandon Sanderson

mistborn

Okay before I say anything else, I just want to point out that Brandon Sanderson is a genius. The Mistborn series is the first set of books that I have read by him but I have already ordered all his other books to binge read because this story was just so AMAZINGLY CRAFTED.

The magic system is so fascinating and the way in which the main character slowly develops her powers is really interesting to learn about. The world-building is so wonderfully done and is continuously built upon and expanded throughout the trilogy, adding more and more to an already diverse and mesmerising setting.

The Mistborn trilogy is the first of two trilogies set in this world but can totally be read by itself.

 

The YA Fantasy: The Winner’s Trilogy – Marie Rutkoski

winners

 

I think that we have, for so long, accepted that strong female characters is YA are those that could fight their way out of battles. What I love about the Winner’s Trilogy is that Marie Rutkoski writes a female character that, although is the General’s daughter, fights her way out of situations using her brain and her intelligence.

This story employs the “star-crossed lovers” trope and what can I say, it may be cliché but I love it anyway and Arin and Kestrel and just mean to be. I highly recommend it if you usually enjoy YA fantasy (along the lines of Throne of Glass, The Poison Study series etc.).

 

The All- Rounder: The Captive Prince Trilogy – C.S. Pacat

captive

This book has everything and by everything, I mean EVERYTHING – high fantasy setting, romance, political intrigue, smexy main characters, angst, friendship – the list could go on and on.

I want applaud and hug and give C.S.Pacat an award for writing such a well thought out and complex story that kept me interested by not only the wondrously delicious and angsty romance – Laurent and Damon are OTP material – but also an incredibly intelligent plot.

Keeping in mind trigger warnings and a definite adult rating, please pick up this book because you will NOT REGRET IT.

 

{Note: Obviously, I didn’t include one of my favourite complete series of all time (Harry Potter) because you should pick that up before any of these *squinty eyes*}

 

happyreading,jananee

2 thoughts on “Jananee Recommends: Completed Series

  1. readnothingyet says:

    I’ve just added mistborn and the captive prince to my ever-growing TBR (most of the other were already on there, haha). Thanks for these excellent suggestions!

    Perhaps I can suggest some awesome series as well (if you haven’t read them yet):
    1) the inheritance cycle by Christoper Paolini (because dragons!)
    2) the seven realms series by Cinda Williams Chima (because it’s plain awesome)

    Like

Leave a Reply

