Book Review: Six of Crows

About the Book

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Series: Book 1 of Six of Crows Duology

Genre: Fantasy, Heist, Action

Links: Goodreads // Booktopia // Book Depository // Dymocks

Summary:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

(source)


overallnonspoilerreview

Do you know what I love more than a good fantasy? A good heist. THIS BOOK HAD BOTH. AND AMAZING, DIVERSE CHARACTERS. AND BEAUTIFUL RELATIONSHIPS. AND I NEED THE NEXT BOOK pls.

tumblr_nk7dd6h8Rv1qhl6ldo1_400.gif

The plot was amazingly fast paced and I only put this book down to get a measly 3 hours of sleep before I was up and reading again because I needed to find out what happened (especially to Inej because Inej is LIFE.)

I whole heartedly recommend this book. BUT I just wish that I had more!. Nina and Mathias as well as Kaz and Inej had such complicated, interesting histories that I would have loved to see fleshed out more (petition for two prequel books because I WOULD DIE) and trying to fit 6 character backgrounds as well as the actual plot in one book felt really crammed in and rushed. Lets hope the sequel gives me more of what I need!

5.png


theworldbuilding

I haven’t had the pleasure of reading The Grisha Trilogy yet so the whole world was new to me but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Six of Crows is definitely a book you can read with no prior knowledge of the world because Leigh Bardugo does a really good job of setting it up and explaining the magic system. I really like reading about books with complex magic systems (*cough* Brandon Sanderson *cough*) and this was no different.

What I am hoping for in the next book is for the world to be fleshed out a little more, exploring the different places (hopefully through Nina visiting her hometown with the rest of the crew ;))


theplot

As I mentioned, I love heist plots and there isn’t nearly enough of them in YA. Six of Crows did not disappoint with the right amount of thrill, relationship development, humour and angst thrown in that made the whole book fast-paced and exciting to read.

I have to admit that the beginning was a little hard to get onto but once we got past all the initial set up and the Crows actually came together, it was crazy amazing. Apparently the next book is set up to be a con/heist book as well AND I AM SO READY.


thecharacters

URGH HOW CAN I EVEN BEGIN.

Do you know what I love more than a good fantasy? Do you know what I love more than a good heist? WONDERFULLY DIVERSE CHARACTERS. Leigh Bardugo fit more diverse characters into one book than most authors do in their whole lifetime and it made me so happy to read.

Honestly, if Kaz doesn’t get his shit together and confess his feelings to Inej, I will because I am hopelessly in love with her. She is PoC, kick-butt but has a conscience and she is just altogether awesome and I want to thank Leigh Bardugo for writing her because I NEEDED HER IN MY LIFE.

tumblr_m8g63t0KxE1qihztbo1_500.gif

Now, lets not let Inej take all the attention because the rest of the Crows were amazing as well. Kaz brings a whole new meaning to the term “problematic fav” because he is seriously messed up but he is trying and I still love him for it. The anti-hero trope is one of my favourites and Kaz does it spectacularly.

Nina is AMAZING and takes no shit from anyone and I hope she gets all she wants from life because she must be protected. I love her because she shows that you don’t have to be warrior to be a badass character – she is feminine and she knows it and she loves it and she is still strong and powerful as well.

Mathias would do anything for Nina (I see you trying to deny it Mathias – it ain’t gonna work) and he has SO MUCH development in this book and I sorely wish that him and Nina had their own book because it would have been EVERYTHING.

Jesper and Wylan oh I SHIP THEM SO MUCH. I love their banter and teasing and I am so ready for them both to get deeper back stories in the next book!


 

happyreading,jananee

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Six of Crows

  1. Of Books and Dreams says:

    Six of Crows is AMAZING! And I totally agree- Inej is such a badass and so awesome as well. I love her. And also Kaz, because he’s so…Kaz. I can’t really explain it. Really, I love all of them 😍. Can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

