Book Review: Spark

About the book

Spark by Rachael Craw

Genre: YA Fantasy/ Sci-Fi

Series: Book 1 of the Spark Trilogy 

Links: Goodreads // Booktopia // Dymocks

Summary: 

One day she’s an ordinary seventeen year old, grieving for her mother. The next, she’s a Shield, the result of a decades-old experiment gone wrong, bound by DNA to defend her best friend from an unknown killer.

The threat could come at home, at school, anywhere. All Evie knows is that it will be a fight to the death.

And then there’s Jamie. irresistible. off-limits.

(source)


overallnonspoilerreview

The Rating: 4 out of 5

YAY! Another win for Oz fiction! (even though technically Rachael is from NZ but it was still awesome). And another win for YA sci-fi which I am finding that I love just as much as YA fantasy and I hope that all the future books I read can be as fun as this one.

This book had many wins – it was fast paced, had a wonderful flow to the story, great family dynamics (which is INCREDIBLY rare in YA fiction) and a great romance that didn’t overpower the plot but instead complemented it.

Although the clichés were prevalent at times and the knowledge thrown at you was a little intense, this is still a thoroughly enjoyable and interesting read and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of the trilogy!

Beware of minor spoilers down below!


theworldbuilding

This was a really good set-up for the rest of the series and introduced all the science and history behind the Strays, Shields and Sparks. HOWEVER, at times the information was a lot to take in but you get used to it as you keep on reading the story and everything kind of clicks together. I am really interested to learn more about Affinity and in particular why they are so interested in controlling everyone’s lives (but I guess being an evil corporation is reason enough right?).

OH, I also adored Jamie’s friends and the whole high-school setting of the book. Not only was it hilarious to read about their interactions with Evie and with each other, it was also nice to know that although Evie has to save the world, she is expected to go to school as well and doesn’t just drop all her responsibilities like so many of her fellow YA heroes and heroines magically do.


theplot

SUPERHEROES! I love superheroes and this book dealt with them spectacularly, adding in sci-fi elements and a overaching evil corporation to top it all off. I think the joy of this book is actually going into it with knowing too much and discovering it for yourself so I will stop myself before I give away too much!

BUT HOLY MOTHER OF PLOT TWISTS. Usually I pride myself on seeing twists far before they actually happen but I did not see that coming. I want to pick up the second book right now just so I can see Evie deals with the situation she has been thrown into because boy, has her life been an emotional rollercoaster recently.


thecharacters

I really did like Evie but at times, she tended to be a *tad* overdramatic and suffered a little bit too much from the “special snowflake syndrome” – however, if anyone has a reason to be dramatic it is her! I also really enjoyed her relationship with Jamie (i.e. the attractive, built, British boyfriend – seriously where can you wrong?!) and I thought they has a nice build up without it being too overpowering. Urgh but I sense drama and I REALLY hope they end up happy together because they are too cute to be cruelly separated.

I also really enjoyed all the family connections and the solid unit that Barb, Leonard and Miriam provide to the kids. I feel like in a lot of YA fiction, family dynamics are often portrayed negatively or are missing altogether and so this was a refreshing take. However I did not appreciate the way in which they tried to hide everything from Kitty – I think she is a really strong character (she was literally being hunted the whole book and she held up so well) and I think the others need to start treating her as such.


All in all, I definitely recommend you pick up the book! If you have, let me know your thoughts and feels in the comments ~

happyreading,jananee

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Spark

Leave a Reply

