Mid Year Reading Wrap Up

Hey guys! Since I have never gotten the hang of doing monthly wrap ups (trust me, I try), I thought I would compile all the many highlights, excruciating regrets and hours fangirling that was my reading experience during the first half of 2016. Leave your reading progress and your favourite books of the year so far in the comments as well because I always love finding new books! All the books that have reviews have been linked go you can go forth read my in depth thoughts about them.

A note before we begin: click on the title of the book and you shall be magically transported to my review if it exists!

And off we go…


readingprogress2.jpg

Compared to last year, this year’s reading progress is not going so well *hides*. Last year, I read a lot over my uni break from January – March and this year, I was in a HUGE slump. However, on the plus side I am reading more during the actual semester (instead of studying, but sacrifices must be made ;)).

I am well on track with my Goodreads reading goal though and as of current, I have read 33 books out of the 52 books I plan to read this year which is!


favouritenewreleases

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

People can hate all they want on Cassie Clare for releasing more and more books in the Shadowhunter universe but I, for one, LOVE IT and her books get better and better with every release.

18530530.gif

This book had everything and I highly recommend you read it if you haven’t picked it up already! Also, if Kieran and Mark don’t get together than I am going to be a very unhappy chappy but hey, I can settle with Emma and Julian being together in peace (though knowing Cassandra Clare, that probably isn’t going to happen for a while).

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

So many of many favourite series came to an end this year and The Winner’s Kiss was the wonderful, spectacular conclusion to The Winner’s Curse trilogy. Just like the entire trilogy, this book had political intrigue, wonderful relationships and a great plot.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Another one of my favourite series that finished this year is The Raven Cycle. GUYS, this series is B E A U T I F U L. This is one of the few (suprisingly) YA books that I have read that has actual magic in it and I AM ALL ABOUT THAT.

tumblr_niaa5pweCx1tcy0mao1_500.gif

I recommend it with all my heart because everything about the book is unique, and the characters are amazing and just SO MANY FEELINGS. But also, Adam and Pynch are the most beautiful couple ever so yes.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Oh Rick, Rick, Rick. Your writing is a literal JOY to read and it never fails to cheer me up. There is something so refreshing about how Percy Jackson books and now the Trials of Apollo are so light and fun to read – especially after prolonged exposure to angsty YA fantasy.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK OH MY RHYSAND. I was not impressed with A Court of Thorns and Roses to say the least and I was actually not going to pick up this book – CAN YOU IMAGINE? Short story short, I am forever grateful that this book came into my life.


highlights

SO GOOD IT DESERVES IT’S OWN CATEGORY

The Captive Prince Trilogy by C.S. Pacat

So I binge read this entire trilogy in a weekend and let me tell you, it was a glorious weekend. I think a lot of people have vast misconceptions about this book – yes it is explicit (probably not one for the kiddies) but at the same time, it has an angsty, incredibly delicious, slow-building romance; the best political intrigue I have read in a book (ever); a great cast of supporting characters; and spectacularly vivid world building. As you can probably tell, I ABSOLUTELY ADORE THIS TRILOGY AND RECOMMEND IT SO SO SO SO MUCH.

hearteyes

(goodreads)

WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS EARLIER?

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I have had this book sitting on my shelf literally since it was released. And I only picked it up this year. And it was so good.

Honestly, I don’t know why I do this to myself but then I have slowly come to accept my ridiculous book buying habits so that is something right? Anyway, the book was surprisingly good and was a mix between sci-fi and dystopia and generally really fast paced and enjoyable to read. I need to pick up the rest of the series soon but I have way too many books to read as it is.

The Well of Ascension & Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson 

So I read The Final Empire last year and it was amazing but I wasn’t necessarily in love with it yet. Then I read these two books and MY HEART SHATTERED INTO A MILLION TINY LITTLE PIECES. HOWEVER I will literally chuck these books at anyone who hasn’t read them yet because Brandon Sanderson is such a mastermind and I assure you, these wont disappoint.

giphy (1).gif

KNEW I WAS GOING TO LOVE IT

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I honestly don’t know why I waited so long to read this book, especially since it houses my one true life – Inej Ghafa. This book has everything – magic, diverse characters, a heist plot line URGH it is just so good and I cant wait until the sequel comes out!

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Ancient Greece/ Greek Mythology are probably two of my most loved things to read about so obviously this book was going to be a winner. Achille’s and Patroclus’ relationship was simply beautiful and Madeline Miller wrote it in such a lovely way. This book made me feel ever emotion under the sun and those types of books are my favourites.

BIGGEST SURPRISE

Off-Campus series by Elle Kennedy

So why was this such a big suprise?

If there is anything you should know about me, it is that I am an AVID avoider of New Adult fiction. Early (and I mean at the beginning of the genre, early) exposure to books like Beautiful Disastor by Jamie Mcguire turned me off the genre all together. Don’t get me wrong – I am not hating on the genre or anything – I personally just didn’t understand that appeal of all that unnessecary agnst and the cookie-cutter tattooed, bastard male protagonist trope. So from that day on, I hadn’t picked up another New Adult book. Until last month.

The Off-Campus series proved to me that there are New Adult books that have cute romances, solid friendships and most importantly – ARE FUN TO READ #impressed

Sheppard-Impressed-Gif.gif

I sped through these books so quickly and although the first book remains my favourite, they were really good reads and I highly recommend them – especially if you need a pick-me-up to get you out of your reading slump.


dissapointing2Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

Sigh. I was looking forward to this one so much but it ended up being boring and just a really bland read. I probably wont be picking up the sequel just because I don’t think I will have anything to gain from reading it – however, if you think you might like it – go for it!

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Hello, most overhyped book of the year.

Falling-Asleep-GIF

Gods this book makes me so sad. The premise of this sounded wonderful but in the end it was just a mess of confusion, cliches and too many perspectives. I may pick up the sequel when it comes out and hopefully it is a lot better than this one!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 

Hello, second most overhyped book of the year.

This book was interesting once you got into it but it took SO LONG to get into it. The first half of the book was boring and dragged out to say the least and I felt like this story could have been a lot more condensed. The premise was interesting so I will probably pick up the sequel.

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

Full disclosure, I didn’t finish this book so for all I know, it may have become magically beautiful during the second half of the book. However, what I read of it, i did not like one bit. It was cliche, the writing was off and the characters were grating. I feel like it has the type of storyline that would make my inner feminist very angry BUT it it intrigues you, still give it a go because as I said, it was a DNF for me.


anticipatedHarry Potter & The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

OMG WHEN WILL IT BE JULY 31ST ALREADY? Before the previews began for the play, I was really excited for this book (obviously) but after hearing feedback and reactions to the play I NEED THIS PRECIOUS BOOK IN MY HANDS RIGHT NOW AND I NEED TO DEVOUR IT.

But I am also low key scared for what Queen Rowling has planned.

ron.gif

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Ever since I read Six of Crows and ignited by deep and lasting love for Inej, I have needed this book. The way the first book ended has haunted my dreams and I am so excited for this instalment. But also excited for that duology boxset because damn. That is a sexy boxset.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

Does this even need any explaining? Although I have forgotten almost everything that happened in Queen of Shadows (probably should reread it but that book is GIANT), I am still super excited to get my hands on this book. Also I ship Dorian and Chaol SO MUCH – if SJM can manage to put Aelin in three different relationships, she can manage to make Dorian and Chaol act on their love for each other so I will NOT LOSE HOPE.

tumblr_inline_mobzobDvff1qz4rgp.gif

Gemina by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was AMAZINGLY AWESOME and this installement is going to be doubly as AMAZINGLY AWESOME. I can forsee it with my great mystical powers.

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

Although Magnus Chase isn’t my fav of Riordan’s works, after reading (and absolutely loving) The Hidden Oracle, I really want to escape in his writing and wonderful worlds again.

Of course, I have heaps more anticipated releases so check out Goodreads for the whole list!


Until next time!

happyreading,jananee

8 thoughts on “Mid Year Reading Wrap Up

  1. WeeReader says:

    Great post, I love reading wrap ups. I totally agree about Truthwitch and Passenger! I started reading The Glittering Court but haven’t picked it up again since, oops! Nice to see that we have similar taste though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily @ Loony Literate says:

    ARE THESE ALL FANTASIES? For shame. *shakes head* You need some contemporaries in your life.

    But these are some pretty awesome books. I kind of hated the Mortal Instruments series but I LOVED Lady Midnight (which I’m just realising is paranormal not fantasy, so ignore me). And I’m so excited for Gemina/The Cursed Child/many other books. I may have a 2018 shelf on Goodreads. It’s a sickness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • headinherbooks says:

      I AM TRYING BUT THE FANTASIES JUST CALL TO ME *hides behind massive pile of unread contemporaries* Damn but I really need to start a 2018 shelf as well because seriously the anticipated books are getting out of hand

      Like

  3. Tasya says:

    I’ve read all Rick’s books except for Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo, so I plan to read them before the year ends! Song of Achilles too! I heard so many people crying about it so I definitely have to know what it’s all about xD I wanted to read Passenger and Truthwitch, but decided to skip it after reading so many meh reviews. I hope the 2nd half of 2016 would be better for you!<3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anisha says:

    I am actually one of those lucky people that picked up the winner’s trilogy after the third book was released and I totally, totally binged on them because they are phenomenal! I adored the characters and the plot and the writing! One of the biggest highlights of this year for me probably!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

