Book Review: Harry Potter & The Cursed Child

About the book

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover.jpg

The Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Genre: Middle Grade/YA Fantasy

Links: Goodreads // Booktopia // Bookdepository // Amazon

Publisher: Hachette Australia

 

 

Summary: 

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

(source)


banner.jpgYou know what my biggest fear was when I started this book? That I was going to absolutely hate it and that I would be forced to remove it from memory to never think of it again.

I needn’t have worried. This book, well script to be precise, was a lovely journey back to the Harry Potter universe and I had a blast reading it. Since it is a script, I find that you get into the story and the world a lot quicker (due to it being pure dialogue) so it was a really fast paced read that you can easily knock back in a couple of hours.

giphy (2).gif

I loved seeing who the original crew grew up to be (especially *bae* Draco Malfoy) and how they got on with each other. We obviously don’t get to see all of the Hogwarts/Order gang again, and we don’t even get to see some of the major characters, but it is quite a short book and I think it may have posed a risk of getting overcrowded otherwise.

What was even better than seeing the original crew was being introduced to their kids and revisiting Hogwarts (which is basically like going home again *insert tears*). Although we didn’t get to see as much of James and Lily as I would have liked, Scorpius is an absolute TREASURE who deserves everything good in this world. (I recognise it is weird to have a crush on both father and son. I also recognise that I have a problem. But they are both cute. And I love them. )

jC1S2I-ywQex.gif

Just a word of warning though. I rated this book 5 stars even though I didn’t like one of the major plot points in the script. If you are reading this book for the plot, you are probably going to be disappointed because it wasn’t anything original and uses a lot of well-known tropes (especially if you are a frequent connoisseur of fanfiction). HOWEVER if you are reading it because you are a massive HP fan, want another adventure with the characters and to visit the wonderful universe once again then you are going to love it.

Okay well the final opinion: READ IT. I know a lot of people are avoiding it because they don’t want to screw up the story and even more people are avoiding it because of some of the hate surrounding it but honestly, it was great and I think this is definitely one of the books that you should read in order to make up your own mind. If anything, it lets you go back to the magic, comfort and nostalgia that is Harry Potter.


spoilerydiscussion.jpg

And once again if you didn’t read the heading – SPOILERS BELOW PEOPLE!

BEWARE: This is going to be super long because I apparently can’t stop talking when it comes to Harry Potter.

tumblr_mdpdbhy1wZ1ra6sldo2_500.gif

I am just going to insert some of the various thoughts that I had whilst progressing through this book (well some of them anyway because I didn’t actually want to stop reading the book in order to take them down)!

  • OH MY GOD is this actually happening. Pause reading the first page in order to have a mini fangirl/panic attack because having this book in my hands is so crazy IT EVEN SMELLS LIKE HARRY POTTER.

tumblr_mtva5pCbMS1rutpbro4_250.gif

  • YES Albus is a Slytherin! And is friends with Scorpius! And Rose, haven’t your parents (and basically everyone that survived the Second Wizarding War) taught you to not judge people based on who their family is?!
  • Hermione as Minister of Magic? THIS IS SO AMAZING! I am so glad Hermione became Minister of Magic and not Harry because the magical world would be in chaos if Harry was running it, let’s be real.

giphy10.gif

  • Further, I love how society has changed since the demise of Voldemort – Muggle-borns are no longer seen as wizards/witches of inferior class but as the same as everyone else and CAPABLE OF GREAT THINGS *hugs all around*
  • Alright Albus, I feel for you, but stop being a little shit. I know that having Harry as a dad would be tough to say the least but you need to learn to deal with it man.

tumblr_l9bbkvOzTS1qzcmp3o1_500.gif

  • Look at Scorpius, who is pure and angelic despite all the horrible things that are said about him.
  • (the above comment was probably a little bit biased but I JUST LOVE SCORPIUS, OKAY?).
  • OH IT’S DRACO. Hi babe.

Harry-Potter-Gif-harry-potter-23969236-500-200.gif

  • Oh Astoria *cries*. Even though I don’t really know you, I am thankful that you gave birth to the wonder that is Scorpius.
  • HARRY NO. How could you tell your own son that you sometimes wish he wasn’t yours? That is Lucius Malfoy level of dick-headness and you have no excuse that justifies it. At least Albus is a moody teenager and this sort of stuff is expected from him. Really Harry, get your shit together and take better care of your kids.

tumblr_lsgv5msO101qabn2bo1_500.gif

  • It honestly amazes me that Albus thinks that he has nothing in common with Harry when they both share the tendency to make HORRIBLE life choices. Really Albus, trying to change the past (the biggest no-no EVER) and not just the past but the past involving darkest wizard in history? Yeah, sure, seems like a good plan *rolls eyes*
  • Okay so Delphi looked dodgy from the beginning. I KNEW she was going to turn out to be dark side when she showed so much interest in letting two 5th years time travel by themselves.
    • Okay so side note: This is the part of the plot that I did not like. Seriously, Delphi was Voldemort’s daughter? And by Bellatrix? This story arc honestly felt like it was pulled straight out of fanfiction and it just does not feel like it fits into canon. Also, I was not aware Voldemort could have children. He was missing a nose so I just assumed he was missing other parts as well lol.

giphy (1).gif

  • I just want to pronounce that I am so happy that the Order won the Battle of Hogwarts and that Harry killed Voldie because that alternative reality was scary. Especially the screaming muggles in the dungeons. How do the Slytherins even sleep there *shudders*.
  • Okay, I must admit Albus – that burning into the blanket thing was a pretty good idea. But you just destroyed the only possession your Dad has of his mother. Maybe not so cool.
  • AWWW Draco asking if Scorpius wants a hug as well *melts*
  • WHAT JUST HAPPENED. MY DRAMIONE RADAR JUST DETECTED A MOMENT. SOUND THE ALARMS PEOPLE – DRACO AND HERMIONE JUST HAD A MOMENT (But honestly Draco, we would all like to get bossed around by Hermione).
  • THEY SMILED AT EACH OTHER. As you can tell, I am hardcore Dramione trash and since they are never going to be canon, I will take what I can get.

partyio-hnlr3wd3h6gtk93rpf8d-original.gif

  • Okay so Scorpius and Rose are cute and imma let you finish but SCORPIUS AND ALBUS? How cute would they be. I honestly thought when Scorpius was getting jealous of Delphi that this was totally going to be a thing. *sad face*
  • Okay phew. So glad that no one died and SUPER glad that the alternate reality did not become actual reality.
  • Cue the tears. Post- Potter depression is back. THE PAIN IS REAL.

giphy (1).gif

  • Now to reread the book again. And again. And again. You get the picture.

 

happyreading,jananee

 

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter & The Cursed Child

  1. Tamsien West says:

    I 100% agree with all of the above. I love that Draco got to have his friendship moment with Harry, and Ron admitting Draco has nice hair made me snort with laughter in an airport. And Scorpius, my sweet nerdy child of light. I totally ship him with Albus. No chemistry with Rose. I’m tragic. I know.

    Finally I am also on board with calling out the ludicrous ‘child of Voldemort’ thing. Just no. I’ve read that so many times in fanfic and I just don’t buy it. He was basically inhuman and the idea that he was able to create a child or have the desire to seems ridiculous to me. BUT I do see how in the setting of a play something like that becomes an easy way to explain a character’s motivations, and there was a theme of seeking approval and acknowledgement from parents throughout.

    Aaand, that’s it from me, for now. I’m going to go back and highlight all my fav Scorpius moments. Especially the cute hug with Draco at the end 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • headinherbooks says:

      YES! Draco being cute and friendly with the others was everything I needed 😻 Albus and Scorpius being together would have been so easy because IT. WAS. RIGHT.THERE! They had so much chemistry 😭 Yeah, the Voldemort thing does give them a convenient way to do things because of how little time the play has to develop other motives for Delphi but *sigh* I just wish it was something more plausible.

      You must read the hug again! It was beautiful 💕

      Like

  2. dearautumnuk says:

    I just love this book for giving us the chance to go back to Hogwarts and I’ve also rated it with 5 stars but I must admit the plot is a bit too much fanfiction and sometimes I wish it was a proper book and not just a script…
    I also jumped and screamed with the Dramione moments (I’m glad wasn’t just me who saw them 😂) and I also have a crush with Draco and Scorpius 😻😻😻
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

