The Aussie Book Tag

Whilst my patriotism may not extend to eating Vegemite three times a day, riding a kangaroo to uni (I much prefer travelling via emu) or housing a crocodile in my swimming pool, I am still very much a proud Aussie and so this tag (created by the lovely Julia @ Picnic Reads and Ngoc @ Happy Comes First was right up my alley!

I tag Michaela @ Floral Ink Books, Meleika @ The Aus Library and Danielle @ The Chronicles of Danielle, some of my fellow Aussie bloggers but feel free to do this tag whether you are Aussie or not!

Anyway onwards to the tag!


K O A L A

{A character you want to cuddle ALL DAY LONG}

Okay so I can probably fill an entire collection of encyclopedias (you know those 24-set, really fancy ones that cost about $10000?) with the characters that I love painfully but I have decided to go for Scorpius from Harry Potter & The Cursed Child because HE IS SO PRECIOUS AND MUST BE PROTECTED AT ALL COSTS. Also he totally would be the right size to bear hug (or koala hug in this case).

giphy (2).gif


V E G E M I T E

{A book you love that everyone else hates}

After a quick scroll through my Goodreads, I have discovered that generally I share the same opinion about books as the wide majority. If they like a book then I generally like the book and vise versa. BUT one that does have a relatively low Goodreads rating that I loved is This Is Where The World Ends by Amy Zhang. There is something so beautiful about Amy’s writing and the characters within her novels so they are instant favourites for me despite what others might think! Also Landline, by Rainbow Rowell, is probably one of her lowest rated books but it was one of my favourites and I definitely recommend!

Also, because this ALWAYS annoys me when I see it on YouTube and I thought it would be relevant for this question – you DO NOT eat Vegemite by the spoonful! You eat it with heaps of butter on toast and then proceed to drown in happiness.

large.gif


S O C C E R O O S

 {Favourite fictional squad}

How can I go past my beloved Six of Crows squad? They are all so unique and amazing (and yes problematic at times BUT THAT’S WHY I LOVE YOU KAZ) and I can’t wait for Crooked Kingdom so I can see what all be babies are doing…but especially Inej because I love her.

tumblr_mob1gj6dIO1sp146zo1_250.gif


S O U T H E R N   C R O S S

{Most recent 5-star read}

So my most recent 5 star read was Harry Potter & The Cursed Child (a full 19 days ago omg) but I also rated The Crown’s Game 4.5 stars which is technically 5 stars on Goodreads so that counts right? If you need to be truly convinced of how awesome these books are then check out my reviews! But long story short…

giphy (4).gif


P A T R I O T I S M

{Favourite book by an author from your country}

So I am ashamed to say that before this year, I didn’t really read that much Australia fiction and tbh I am so disappointed in myself because we have some WONDERFUL talent. Anyway, after I joined Aussie Book Club (shamelessly plugging but you should definitely come join us!), I started picking up a lot more Oz fiction. My FAV however would have to be The Captive Prince trilogy by C.S.Pacat (which definitely isn’t YA but still amazeballs) –  I LOVE DAMEN AND LAURENT SO MUCH *heart eyes* and the political intrigue and plot from this entire trilogy was spectacular.

18530530.gif


E C H I D N A

{A book you like to look at, but it physically hurts to read}

So this may refer to an emotionally painful book BUT I am going to go with Suicide Notes for Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten, which although has a STUNNING cover, is an absolutely horrid read (WHICH IS BETRAYAL) and a downright physically painful experience for my brain.

tumblr_nnqivwlGDK1uthewko1_500.gif


N E D  K E L L E Y

{A book that is really grim, but an iconic must-read}

Okay well for this I am going to go with a classic, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, which obviously is a really tough read due to the subject matter but is an absolute MUST READ – it’s well-known and loved for a reason.

I also haven’t watched the movie yet and I literally don’t even know why.

08z7Wjj.gif

and by you, I obviously mean myself


G R E A T  B A R R I E R  R E E F

{A book that had you gaping in awe}

Okay so this might be a little predictable, but I am going to go with A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas.

Okay so hear me out – it isn’t just because the book is amazingly magical and mind-blowing (which it is) but it’s because I was so indifferent towards A Court of Thorns and Roses and the obsession that came with reading ACOMAF was completely unexpected!

I was actually considering not continuing on with the series after the first book – CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? I would have missed out on the beauty and wonder that is the Court of Dreams which is something that no one should be deprived of bECAUSE THE FEELS *faints*

giphy (3).gif


P A V L O V A

{A light, and fluffy book that you can’t help but love}

Okay so light, fluffy books usually aren’t my thing because I enjoy a dose of pain with my fiction but Everything, Everything was such a fast, interesting and cute read that I ADORED. I don’t even know why because it was everything I usually dislike in a book but it all worked so well!

hearteyes.gif


M I L O

{A genre/author you reach for to get you out of a reading slump}

Okay so I am super embarrassing and basically just read a lot of adult historical romance during my slumps (you know the ones set in Regency England with the half-naked guys on the covers?) but if you want the slightly less mortifiying answer, then I usually reach for YA Fantasy (*cough* Harry Potter *cough) because it’s like my comfort drug.

tumblr_niaa5pweCx1tcy0mao1_500.gif

happyreading,jananee

13 thoughts on “The Aussie Book Tag

Leave a Reply

