Book Review: Nevernight

About the book:

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Series: Book 1 of The Nevernight Chronicles

Genre: Adult Fantasy, High Fantasy

Publisher: Harper Voyager (Harper Collins)

Links:  Booktopia // Bookdepository // Goodreads // Dymocks

Summary: 

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

(source)

*Thanks to Harper Voyager for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review*


overallnonspoiler4.png

First of all, I just want to let out a sigh of relief for finishing this book because it is a journey, let me tell you. It may not seem like it but there is so much content and story jam-packed into 400 pages that I honestly think that I deserve a medal for getting through it.

Not that it was bad. No, no – far from it! This story was so wonderfully intricate and the world is built with so much detail and history that it feels so real. This book is one that demands to be savoured though, and should be read whilst you are in a mood to actually read and not binge (if you get what I’m saying).

{ W R I T I N G ,  P L O T + W O R L D  B U I L D I N G }

There have been many varying opinions of Nevernight and I think it comes down to one thing – the writing. It was beautiful to read but you need to be invested. The first 100 pages felt like it took ages to get through because not only was there a lot of world building (which is great in the long run) but the plot felt like it was going nowhere.  This, in addition to the footnotes (which could be distracting at times) made the story very dense and it was hard to pay attention, especially so early on in the book.

However, these footnotes allowed for the world to be built amazingly and it had so much complexity and history to it.  The added information in the footnotes were not a necessity to the story (and sometimes felt like an information dump) but, if you were interested, it really made the world three dimensional. I think Jay Kristoff did such a brilliant job and this novel world building equivalent to most high fantasy novels which made it really interesting to explore.

Whilst the plot was quite slow-moving for the first 100 pages however, the story picked up phenomenally once we reached the Red Church and actually began Mia’s training. Magical schools are actually my thing so it was really interesting to see how the institution itself was set up. This part of the plot was my personal favourite because it introduced a whole bunch of fascinating personalities, by way of the teachers and the other students. Also, I got a step by step guide on how to become a master assassin if the need ever arise which is pretty cool.

{ C H A R A C T E R S }

The characters were fleshed out really well and I absolutely loved the narrator (I WANT TO KNOW WHO IT IS) because they added a lot of humour to the story. Mia was amazing as well and I felt like she really grew into her own throughout the book. I know a lot of people compare her to Arya from A Song of Ice and Fire, and you can definitely see the resemblance but they are both amazing characters so I can’t really complain. Also- you can’t forget Mister Kindly! He so sarcastic and wonderful and although a little hard to comprehend at the beginning of the book (he’s a cat, but he’s not a cat and you kind of just wonder what he is doing there), he definitely becomes one of your favourite characters by the end of the book.

ALSO, this is just a thought I had whilst reading the book but, there is such a lack of swearing in YA literature that the dialogue in this book was so refreshing. Not that I am for excessive swearing but if I was in mortal danger and it was my job to stop the world from imploding on itself, you can bet that I would be spewing curse words left, right and centre.

{ T O   S U M   I T   A L L   U P }

So although the plot was slow for the first 100 pages or so, the story arc, characters and world building were all done fantastically and for that reason I highly recommend this book – especially for those of you who are looking for a really good high fantasy novel to lose yourself in.


happyreading,jananee

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Nevernight

  1. bookishyouth says:

    Loved your review!! I pretty much agree with everything in your review but I really really didn’t like that a certain person died!! It was so sad and I feel like Mia won’t be the same without him!! Are you going to continue the series? ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

