T10T: Characters I’d Name My Future Children After

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and The Bookish

When someone in the distant future asks my child “what’s the story behind your name”, my child will proclaim with great pride “it’s the name of one of my mum’s favourite book characters”. Now a) it will be said with great pride because I will have brainwashed my children from a very young age to be bookworms and b) people really should have thought about giving me the power to name things before they judge me because I am 100% going to be naming ALL my children after book characters. And by children I mean my future dogs, cats, fish, small humans, ALL OF THEM because I get very attached to everything and they deserved to blessed with wonderfully amazing names.


Image result for pride and prejudice book coverDARCY

after Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen


I included Mr Darcy on the list just to show you how serious I am about the whole character-naming thing because my dog is already called Darcy. I literally was so lost on what to name him and then, duh, it hit me that I should name him after possibly my favourite male character of all time. This is him obnoxiously lying over my book because I wasn’t giving him enough attention (I think that attitude right there would make Mr Darcy himself proud).

Photo 18-10-16, 6 34 12 pm.jpg


Image result for harry potter and the order of the phoenix book coverLUNA

after Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling


For some reason, I think Luna would be the perfect name to call my cat because it just seems like I very cat-appropriate name. Just me? I don’t know but Luna is one of my favourite characters from Harry Potter because she was never afraid to be different, haters be damned. This is a quality that I have always admired and so Luna has made this list both because she is a wonderful human being and because she has a lovely name.


Image result for city of glass new book coverALEXANDER

after Alexander Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare


For some reason, I have just always loved the name Alexander. There is something so, I don’t know, gentleman-ly about it? Not that Alec is the perfect example of a gentleman or anything but I still love him as a character, especially in regards to his character development, and so I thought he would be a good addition to the list.


FEYREImage result for a court of thorns and roses

After Feyre Archeron from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas


So, spoiler-alert, I didn’t actually enjoy ACOTAR that much, mainly because I didn’t really have any overt feelings towards Feyre or Tamlin. So, why is Feyre making this list? Well, A Court of Mist and Fury completely changed my perspective on these books. I grew to appreciate Feyre’s strength so much and she really developed as a character. Also Feyre is just a beautiful name in itself, so there is that.


Image result for winner's curse book coverARIN

after Arin from The Winner’s Curse Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski


ARIN MY CHILD. First off, you guys should ALL read this trilogy if you haven’t already because it is AMAZING. Secondly, Arin is the so, so, SO precious and one of my favourite male characters of all time. Although he is a good fighter, he also has a fierce intellect (which is way too often overlooked in male characters) and I just appreciate his character a lot.


ARYAImage result for game of thrones book cover 

after Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin


Can we just take a moment to talk about our lord and saviour, Arya Stark? This girl. THIS GIRL. Arya has always been my favourite character from ASOIAF, ever since I read Game of Thrones, up to when I finished catching up with the show. Obviously, I have multiple favourites, but I just have this fierce wish that Arya gets the happiness and safety she deserves. She is such a fierce, loyal and brave human being and she NEEDS all the good things in the world.


Image result for percy jackson and the lightning thief book coverATHENA

after Athena from Percy Jackson and the Olympians 


Okay, yes, so Athena is technically a Greek goddess but hey – loophole! – she’s also a character in the Percy Jackson books so I can rightfully include her here ;). I’m not going to say much because isn’t it pretty obvious why I would want to name my daughter after the literal Goddess of wisdom, courage, strength and strategy?


LAIA An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

after Laia from An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 


Now, I must admit that I did not love this book (I actually have been meaning to reread it though – I think I read it way too fast the first time). However, despite my feelings towards the book, I LOVE the name Laia. I’m not going to lie, there is like a 99%  chance that my future daughter is called to be named this.


Image result for six of crows book coverKAZ

after Kaz Brekker from the Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo 

Okay so I don’t want my children (or my dog for that matter) to grow up to become a criminal mastermind but Kaz is such a cool name so I couldn’t let it pass up! Also, I adore him despite how problematic he is so obviously he was going to make this list. Also YOU MUST READ THE SOC DUOLOGY IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY. That is all. 


 ALINAImage result for shadow and bone

after Alina Starkov from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo


I am now aware that more than half the names on this list begin with “A” and I’m not sure if that’s a problem we should be addressing 😂  Anyway, like many of my other choices, Alina is on here because I really like her name, not necessarily because I love her as a character. Not that I don’t like her. I actually did really like reading about her, especially in her scenes with The Darkling, but otherwise I think I felt kind of indifferent. So LOOOONG story short, Alina is such a lovely name and I’m totally stealing it for one of my future children.


Let me know some of your favourite character names in the comments!

Until next time,

happyreadingjananee

13 thoughts on “T10T: Characters I’d Name My Future Children After

Leave a Reply

