October Wrap Up and November TBR

I may or may not be freaking out that there are less than two months left in the year. But then again, that might just be me projecting my anxiety that the semester’s over and I’m drowning in finals. Pray for me guys.

October was a decent reading and blogging month suprisingly – I kind of drifted off towards the end when uni became a little overwhelming, but I guess that was to be expected. However, it was a pretty horrid Bookstagram month. I don’t know, I’ve just been lacking motivation and cannot bring myself to take photos at all. Hopefully it’s just a phase though and November will bring better things!

Okay, so let’s wrap up the month that was October!


readingwrapupI honestly thought I had a pretty slow reading month but after totalling up the books I read, it actual turns out that I managed to get through 7, which is quite impressive for me. Here’s a short wrap up of how my reading month went:

The Goal by Elle Kennedy ★★★

Whilst this series has gone downhill from the first book, The Goal was still a fun read and perfect to get through in a day or so. 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer ★★★

Heartless was one of my most anticipated releases of the year and unfortunately, I was let down – the characters and world building fell flat but the ending saved it for me. 

IMG_2105.JPG

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo ★★★½

This book follows Amanda as she moves to another city to escape the incessant bullying she received because of her Trans identity – it’s primarily a coming of age story with some brilliant friendships and a not-so-brilliant romance thrown in. 

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes  ★★★★

This book is like the YA version of Criminal Minds – a group of gifted (and very complicated) teens are recruited by the FBI to solve crimes – a very unique concept in YA (which is quite hard to find) that is executed quite brilliantly.

Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley  ★★★★

This book deals with mental illness and anxiety in a such a way that it should be mandatory reading for everyone – it also has so many Star Trek references and our MC is such a cute geek and it has definitely earned a place as one of my favourite contemporaries. 

Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan ★★★★★

I look forward to the days when Rick Riordan releases a new book because I always know I’m going to love them – the second installation in the Magnus Chase books was no different and between Alex and Samirah, this series has definitely become one of my favourites. 

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff ★★★★★

Gemina was an action-packed, edge-of-your-seat adventure to rival Illuminae- it left me laughing, anxious and sobbing at the same time and I don’t think I am ever going to fully recover from this book. 


ontheblog

YAY! I somewhat kept up with regular posting over the last month and that is something that I am very impressed with. I still haven’t gotten the hang on how to balance blogging with uni and work quite so well yet and so I don’t think November is going to have as many posts since I am going into the dreaded Finals period. Sigh.

Here’s what I posted this month on the blog:

B O O K   R E V I E W S

T O P   T E N   T U E S D A Y

B O O K I S H   D I S C U S S I O N S

U P C O M I N G

I have two exciting things to update you guys on! First off, I will be participating in the Australian Heartless Blog Tour, starting on November 8th. Check out the graphic below to find out all the wonderful blogs participating.

Heartless-Tour-Banner.jpg

Secondly, in the month of December, I will be joining some wonderful bloggers to bring you Diversity December Bingo. It’s a month long read-a-thon dedicated to highlighting some amazing diverse reads. This month has been dedicated to recommendations so follow me, and all the other bloggers mentioned on the graphic below, to start planning your bingo!

DKlO8hzj.jpg

For more information, check out this post, where I outline all the rules 🙂 


toberead

I am such a mood reader and therefore I don’t understand why I continue to make TBRs every month because I’m probably not going to stick to them. Sigh. Oh well.

This month I only have three books (okay more like 2 books, but 3 makes me feel better!) on my TBR and in a plot twist no one saw coming, none of them are YA *shock* *horror*.

The two books that I do want to read are HUGE and I really want to get them out of the way before December (since I am going to be binge reading books for #DiversityDecBingo) so let’s hope that I get to both of them in November. First up is A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, which I picked up on a whim after hearing SO MANY great things about it. I’m about 20 pages in and so far so good (although it is wayyyyy to early for me to make concrete opinions).

IMG_2103.JPG

Next up is The Way of Kings Part 1 and Part 2 by Brandon Sanderson. I have been meaning to pick up another Sanderson book for ages and since this is supposed to be one of his best, it’s a good bet to make.

Also, after writing my wrap up at the top, I now really want to pick up the rest of the books in The Naturals series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes so I’m probably going to binge read those as well.


So what were your favourite books of the month? And what are you most looking forward to next month?

Until next time, 

happyreadingjananee

5 thoughts on “October Wrap Up and November TBR

  1. Ashleigh says:

    It’s a shame you were let down by Heartless! I have an ARC on it’s way to me, so I’m hoping to enjoy it. Sounds like you had a good reading month though 🙂

    I’m a mood reader too, so I never make TBRs 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura 🍁 (@bbliophile) says:

    I’ve also read the new Magnus Chase book in October, and I really really liked it! I’m glad to see that you liked it too (:
    I’m very excited to see what you’ll think of A Little Life! I’ve heard great things, but I’ve never been tempted to pick it up because it’s just too intimidating,
    Happy reading!

    Like

  3. Arwa says:

    Hiiii I’m recently discovering new book blogs to inspire myself to start one I honestly love books and I don’t have many friends to share my thoughts with and I want to start a book blog for many reasons some of them is to just meet book worms from all over the world and to have my own space to escape from reality , I just want to say ur blog is amazing I just discovered it and I’m in looovvvvveee any tips before I start my blog? I’ll be thankful

    Liked by 1 person

    • headinherbooks says:

      Hi! I suggest making a Twitter account to go along with your blog because that way you’ll make book friends a lot easier! As for blogging, I’m not sure I’m the best person to ask because I’m still really bad at it 🙈 However, I think just remember to blog about things you enjoy and try and keep a schedule because it will help with regular posting 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

