Diversity December Bingo Rules, Recommendations & TBR

diversitydecbingo1.jpg

Happy December friends! This month, I’m joining some lovely bloggers to bring you Diversity December Bingo – a month-long readathon that celebrates diverse books and authors. We have some great prizes, Twitter chats and discussions lined up so hopefully you can all join in. Today, I’m going to be going through the rules and prizes more thoroughly, share some diverse recommendations and also let you know my TBR for the month!


rules.png

The aim of Diversity December Bingo is to choose one 5-square line (either horizontal, vertical or diagonal) from the Bingo card below and read one book per category (no doubling up on categories!). You can choose any book from any genre as long as it fits the category.

w8eM6TSq.jpg

Make sure you use the hashtag #DiversityDecBingo to track your reading updates so everyone can see what you’re reading! Also make sure you consistently check social media pages of the hosts for updates throughout the month.


HOSTS


Here are the amazing people I’m hosting #DiversityDecBingo with:

 


GIVEAWAY


If you do manage to read 5 diverse books this month, you’ll be put in the draw to win one of the following prizes:

  • First Prize: $30 worth of diverse books from Book Depository
  • Second Prize: $20 worth of diverse books from Book Depository
  • Third Prize: $15 worth of diverse books from Book Depository

The giveaways are international as long as Book Depository ships to your country. We’ll have more information about the giveaway during the month so keep your eyes open for that!


recs.png

There is so much diverse fiction out there that I could literally spend multiple blog posts giving you suggestions on what to read. I thought instead, I would give you 25 recommendations – one corresponding to each of the 25 bingo squares- to get you started.

  25203675.jpg22692740.jpg25614492.jpg29904219.jpg20517739.jpg

Radio SilenceWritten in the StarsHold Me (Cyclone, #2)In Order to Live: A North Korean Girl's Journey to FreedomAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Girl in PiecesSeven Tears at High TideScreen Shot 2016-12-03 at 4.36.40 pm.pngIf I Was Your GirlThe Kite Runner

To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)The Sun Is Also a StarNot If I See You FirstTimekeeper (Timekeeper, #1)Seven Ways We Lie

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf (The Tribe #1)Of Fire and StarsEverything Leads to YouHighly Illogical BehaviorWe Awaken

If you are after more recommendations, check out Nagina’s excellent post here. I also have a Goodreads shelf dedicated to diverse books which you can find here!


tbr.png

I have SO many diverse books on my TBR that I was just planning on reading randomly off the bingo card but I finally settled on reading the middle horizontal line:

Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 12.25.12 pm.png

Since I’m trying to limit my book buying (which always seems to fail to no end), I tried to pick books that I already had on my shelves. Here is what I’m planning on reading this month:


Let me know what you guys are planning to read for #DiversityDecBingo! I am always looking for some new diverse recs so make sure you comment if you know any good ones.

Until next time,

happyreadingjananee

 

9 thoughts on “Diversity December Bingo Rules, Recommendations & TBR

  1. ruzaikadeen14 says:

    This was such a helpful post! I happened to stumble upon the tag on Twitter and had to go stalk it to find out what exactly this was about, and that’s how I found some really awesome recs too. I’ve got Forbidden Wish on my TBR as well, and I chose the 3rd row too, only I’ll be going for it only if I finish the first column, haha 😀

    Ruzaika @ The Regal Critiques

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anisha says:

    I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THE FORBIDDEN WISH TOO! Make sure to keep me updated on your thoughts because I’m going to be reading it too! Also I want to read Girl In Pieces but alas it’s at home on my bookshelf and I am countries away from there ;(

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

