Seasonal Anticipated Releases #1 (March – May 2017)

I know all of you in the Northern Hemisphere are gearing up to finally feel some warmth against your skin again but you would not believe how ready I am for Summer to be over. Sydney was pretty horrid this year and I cannot, for the life of me, take another 40*C day. Aside from the weather, I’m also super excited for all the wonderful book releases that are coming up in the next three months!

Below I have 20 books that I’m looking forward to over the next season and even that list isn’t exhaustive. So while I’m going to be a happy reader, my bank account is probably going to be a little less excited. But hey, you need to spend your money on something right *she says as she spends her money on everything*?

Anyway, make sure you let me know what books you’re looking forward to this season (because I could always be persuaded to do more damage to me TBR ;)). Withou further ado, on to the list!


march.png

march1books.png

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life – Benjamin Alire Sáenz 

7th March

This book is probably on a lot of people’s radars, purely because of how popular Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of The Universe is. Although it isn’t the much sought after sequel, it still promises to be a fantastic read and I’m ready to get my emotions played with again by Mr Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

The Bone Witch – Rin Chupeco

7th March

Despite the very mixed pre-release reviews for this book, I am still incredibly excited to read The Bone Witch because a) it features a diverse cast which is always a good thing and b) it has a villain witch MC which I am ALL FOR. Also, that cover is next level beautiful.

Amina’s Voice – Hena Khan

14th March

The first of three MG new releases that I’m looking forward to this month, Amina’s Voice follows Pakistani-American Amina as she struggles with the question of whether fitting in is more important than sense of self. I will read practically anything with South Asian representation in it and so I’m happy that I’m going to be able to read this really soon.

 Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

14th March

This book has been on my radar for quite a while because not only does it have ridiculously high pre-release reviews, it’s also set at a convention (a la Comic Con) and also features a cast of diverse characters! It’s quite a short, fast read and I can’t wait to devour it this month.

march2books.png

Hello, Universe – Erin Entrada Kelly

14th March

Hello, Universe is the second MG book on my list and it sounds, simply put, delightful. It follows 4 kids who are thrown together under pressing circumstances and basically just seems like a fast-paced, interesting adventure story with multidimensional characters and relationships.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

28th March

I actually only read the A Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy recently and despite being really late on that bandwagon, I was absolutely enthralled by Laini Taylor’s vivid fantasy world. Strange the Dreamer only promises more of this excellence and I have it on good authority that this book has definitely been worth the wait.

A Crown of Wishes (The Star Touched Queen #2) by Roshani Chokshi

28th March

Ever since I read The Star Touched Queen and was swept away by Roshani Chokshi’s mesmerizing writing and beautiful world, I have been clambering to get my hands on the companion novel. I only expect great things from this book and I can’t wait to see what Gauri, our protagonist, has been up to since we left her in TSTQ!

The Gauntlet – Karuna Riazi

28th March 

The last of the MG releases I’m looking forward to this month, The Gauntlet has been described as “steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair” and if that’s not enough to peak your interest, I’m not sure what could be. It sounds like another fantastic adventure tale with great characters and I’m really looking forward to picking it up.


april.png
aprilbooks.png

The Secret Science of Magic by Melissa Keil

1st April

I have a thing for books that feature super-geniuses (I don’t know, it’s just my thing) and so I’m really excited for The Secret Science of Magic which features an MC that is incredibly smart but also deals with social anxiety. Beyond that, it features magic, science, romance and all that good stuff – basically everything I’m looking for in a YA contemporary.

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

4th April

I find that light contemporaries are just what I need to get me out of dreaded reading slumps and Alex, Approximately sounds like it will fit the bill perfectly. It’s YA retelling of You’ve Got Mail (which, because I’m just a touch behind on the times, I still haven’t watched), and features a trope that I kind of adore (online crush turns out to be real life nemesis) so hopefully it doesn’t disappoint.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

11th April

I don’t think this inclusion needs any further explanation but I’m so hyped for another contemporary by Becky Albertalli! I adored Simon Vs The Homosapiens Agenda (like a lot of the world) and The Upside of Unrequited promises to be as amazing whilst remaining wholly true to itself – featuring fat MCs, F/F relationships and characters with anxiety, it sounds like such a fantastic read!

Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology 

24th April

I say this all the time, but Australia YA doesn’t get nearly the amount of appreciation it deserves! Now, I would probably buy this anthology solely for the absolutely stunning cover but it also has so many amazing authors contributing to it as well – so much so that I probably couldn’t choose the ones I’m most excited to read.


may.png

may22books.png

The Dark Prophecy (Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

2nd May

Rick Riordan’s book releases are like spots of sunshine in my otherwise dull year and I always look forward to them. Although accused of being formulaic, I truly adore Rick Riordan’s classic mix of humour, unruly demigods and even more unruly deities and I’m sure The Dark Prophecy is going to be no different.

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

16th May

I feel like I have been waiting for this book my WHOLE LIFE (even though, realistically, it’s only been a couple of months). The Love Interest is about two spies who are on a mission to win over a girl and instead, fall in love with each other instead. This book has just about every trope I could possibly want and I’M SO RIDICULOUSLY EXCITED TO FINALLY READ IT.

The Crown’s Fate (The Crown’s Game #2) by Evelyn Skye

16th May

Although The Crown’s Game received a lot of mixed reviews, I absolutely loved it (you can find my review here) and so I’m really excited to get onto the sequel! If you didn’t know, these books are historical fantasies set in Imperial Russia and have a heavy focus on magic and magicians – they’re just really cool and you should definitely give them a try.

may2books.png

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

16th May

Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and The Dawn duology has proven that she has a special talent with retellings and so I have high expectations for Flame in the Mist  – a (quasi) retelling of Mulan set in Feudal Japan. Plus it’s another one with a GORGEOUS cover so Bookstagram pictures, here I come!

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

23rd May

Yes this is like the 100th Shadowhunter book that Cassandra Clare has released but what can I say, Lady Midnight was spectacular and that ending has had me grasping for the sequel ever since I finished. Although a little disappointed by the cover (it kind of looks a high school Photoshop project), I’m sure the actual book is going to be AGNST-VILLE which I’m very happy about.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

30th May 

I’ve already been lucky enough to read this book but I’ve included it on the list because I’M SO EXCITED FOR ALL OF YOU TO READ IT. When Dimple Met Rishi is everything that was missing from the YA genre – a cute, funny and wonderfully geeky contemporary about two Indian teens who find themselves thrown together by their misguided but well-meaning parents.

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

30th May

You probably didn’t know this about me but I am a sucker for a good Korean drama and so a YA contemporary based off them? Sign me up! Added to that, this book just sounds downright adorable and hilarious and the MC, Desi, sounds so relatable – I’m so glad authors are coming out with diverse cute contemporaries because we are seriously lacking!


Until next time, 

happyreadingjananee

41 thoughts on “Seasonal Anticipated Releases #1 (March – May 2017)

  1. Emily @ Loony Literate says:

    I AM SO EXCITED FOR SO MANY OF THESE. Goodbye Days, The Inexplicable Logic of My Life (what’s with him and long titles, lmao), When Dimple Met Rishi, The Upside of Unrequited…I’m definitely going to be bankrupt. Especially now that I’ve discovered a bunch of classic book collectors on Instagram and have for some reason decided to start my own collections. But who needs to buy food anyway, right?

    Also if you want to add more to your TBR, here are some of my Goodreads shelves:

    March-April: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/12221873-emily-mead?shelf=mar-apr-17

    May: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/12221873-emily-mead?shelf=may-17

    I can’t freaking help myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bec says:

    The Black Witch sounds SUPER cool, I hadn’t heard of it until now!!!! Also I am reading The Bone Witch after I finish my current read, I’m really looking forward to it. ❤ It looks so promising and I have high hopes!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. littlebookynook says:

    I completely agree with this summer hey…when is it going to end :-/ There are some awesome books on this list, it’s going to be a good reading year hehe. I am looking forward to Lord of Shadows, I agree with the book cover – when I first saw it I thought maybe it was just a fake one lol. Oh and I totally can’t wait for Strange the Dreamer, Laini Taylor is just amazing!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I add another voice to the promise that Strange the Dreamer is worth the wait. If you enjoyed DOSAB this is even better. I can’t wait for Crown of Wishes as well, absolutely adored The Star Touched Queen and Roshani Chokshi NEEDS to continue publishing. I also loved TWATD so I hope Flame in the Mist contains just as much delicious romantic angst. Thanks for compiling this post ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. onespeculiar says:

    so many good books flame in the mist and ACOWAR are my most anticipated releases i’m currently reading dreams of gods and monsters by laini taylor although i have some issues with the trilogies and the second book left disappointed after the the first book ( which was awesome ) but laini has a really unique fantasy world building skills

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    Love the list, Jananee! I’m so excited for a bunch of these, which is really weird because I’m usually so indifferent about spring releases, but there are so many great books coming out. Can’t wait to get my hands on When Dimple Met Rishi, Amina’s Voice, and The Love Interest. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

