Book Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of GeekQueens of Geek by Jen Wilde 

Standalone

Genre: YA Contemporary

Publisher: Pan Macmillian Australia (Swoon Reads)


AMAZON // BOOK DEPOSITORY // BOOKTOPIA // BOOK WORLD // GOODREADS


Summary:

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe

(source)


This book was provided to me by Pan Macmillian Australia in exchange for an honest review. This is no way affects my thoughts. 

There is only one way I can really think to describe this book and that’s – SUPER MEGA AWESOME-ly ADORABLE ❤

Let’s talk about the reasons why I really enjoyed this book:

  • IT HAS THE COOLEST SETTING EVER? Our three main characters travel to Comic Con from Australia which is something that I have been dreaming about doing my WHOLE LIFE. They also completely and totally freak out once they enter the doors of the Con and that is something that I relate to because I possibly might pass out from excitement if I ever got to set foot in those hallowed halls.
  • IT FEATURES SUCH UNIQUE CHARACTERS! Charlie is a really popular Chinese-Australian Youtuber which was fascinating to read about (and something that has never popped up in books before) and Taylor was a fandom Tumblr queen and mega fan as well as being on the Asperger’s spectrum and being subject to social anxiety. I adored the friendship between these two and, along with Jaime, their friendships was probably one of the healthiest and supportive that I have read in YA.
  • IT WAS SO RIDICULOUSLY RELATABLE?! As a fellow “internet human” as Jaime would put it, this book was so relatable to me. Not just that it was full of fangirling, but also because they used Youtube and Tumblr and Twitter just as much as I do in real life and it was nice to see an author actually use existing social media, rather than the arbitrary “chat rooms” or “instant messaging” that often occurs. ALSO IT HAD SUPERNATURAL REFERENCES! DEAN AND SAMMY HAVE MADE IT TO YA.
  • IT WAS SUPER FAST PACED AND CUTE! In case you didn’t get it from my opening sentence, this book was just a whole bunch of cute. Watching the relationships developed between Charlie and Alyssa as well as Taylor and Jaime made me want to burst out into happy squeals periodically – I managed to contain myself, barely. I also really liked how it was really short and fast-paced – the book basically takes place over 3 days and you kind of just fly through the story.

Overall, this was a really enjoyable read! I think I would have liked it a bit more if the writing was more consistent throughout the book – at times it felt quite underdeveloped and descriptive but other than that, this was such a fun book and I definitely recommend you pick it up!

3.5.png


Until next time, 

happyreadingjananee

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

  1. thesassygeek says:

    Great review! I’ve seen nothing but good things about this book so I’m happy you enjoyed it! It really does seem like a very fun and “internet human” relateable book, haha!
    I’m excited to get to this one as well since I should be getting my copy in the mail here soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

