Life Updates, Booktube Channel and General Rambles

Hi friends! Boy, has it been a long time since I’ve sat down to write a blog post – so long in fact that I’m kind of scared I’ve forgotten how this whole book blogging thing works. Before I commit myself to anything too intense, I thought I would warm up the old blogging fingers by updating you all on where I’ve been for the past couple of months (I promise – I didn’t spend the entire time lying in bed, avoiding all responsibility). This is going to be a heavily rambly, not very book related post but I’ve just missed talking to you all and so I hope you don’t mind!


L I F E   U P D A T E S


The main reason why I was missing for so long was because I was actually in London for the majority of July! Despite treating the entire time I spent there as an extended holiday, I was actually attending the University College London International Summer School program (well that was a mouthful) and to be honest, it was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had in my life. I met some amazing people, met lifelong friends and just had an overall blast of a time. If you’re currently at university, I would definitely recommend going if you ever have the opportunity!

Now that I’m back, I’m trying my hardest to get back on schedule (which is currently non-existent) and it is proving to be very difficult when I’m somehow still jet lagged a week after coming home. To make matters more difficult, my cousin (who is more like my sister) is getting married at the end of August and if you ever taken part in planning a Hindu wedding, you probably know the sheer amount of coordination involved in making sure everything runs smoothly. If not, count yourself blessed – it’s probably easier to plan the G20 Summit than to plan a Hindu wedding (I’m not even kidding at this point). I, of course, am ridiculously excited but it’s probably going to contribute to sporadic posting in the next couple of weeks.

And last but not least, I’ve finally reached my last semester of university! Cue the confetti canons. I think I’ve waiting my whole 4 years at uni for it to finally come to an end but now that it’s here, it feels really bittersweet. I’m so happy that I can finally do away with the pain of finals and assessments but I’m also 100% not ready to be a fully functioning adult person in society. Just thinking about it increases my blood pressure.


B O O K T U B E   C H A N N E L


As I was writing this post, I realised that I never actually formally told my blog followers that I started a Booktube channel, so here I am! If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram, you would already know that I was uploading videos for about a month before my hiatus and I’m planning on filming more now that I’m back. I should have a video up soon about my Mid Year Wrap Up so keep an eye out for that! In the meantime, you can go watch my backlog and subscribe right over here:


G E N E R A L   R A M B L E S 


I feel like I missed so much that happened in the book community because I was mainly off Twitter for a month and that seems to be the source for all the hot news. It’s alienating in a way – it kind of humbles you when you realise that the book community can and will continue without you there (this sounds really self-obsessed looking back and I’m just going to chalk it up to my only-childness and separation anxiety). But, it’s also incredibly cleansing – it felt so good to be disconnected for a while and now I feel like I can come back better than ever.

Also, on a random (but totally important) note, shout out to two of my favourite girls ever, Aentee @ReadatMidnight and CW @ReadThinkPonder who have both updated their blogs recently and almost made me cry at how PERFECT they are. The sheer amount of talent amongst them is honestly ridiculous.


But anyway, that’s what’s new with me! What have you all been up to in the last month?

Until next time, 

happyreadingjananee

5 thoughts on “Life Updates, Booktube Channel and General Rambles

  1. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    Welcome back! It seems like a busy but fun time for you 😀 I aim to join 2018’s summer program, my uni has this program to Sweden, Australia and more. Can’t wait for the application to start! Graduations are always a bittersweet event for me, I’m glad that I’m over highschool (or uni for your case) but I’m going to miss the friends and the enviroment haha. Have an amazing month ahead Jananee!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Jananee!! ❤️
    It’s so great to see that you’re back. I hope you had a great time abroad, and that we can meet up next time I’m back in Sydney.
    Ahhh enjoy your last semester at uni! Thinking about it, I’m in my last semester too, but I’m thinking of doing a Masters next year so… maybe not? 😂

    And thank you SO much for the shout, aaaah. ❤️ It was good to be back as well – I know what you mean when you say that coming back from hiatuses being a humbling experience and a cleansing one too.

    I hope you have a great August, Jananee. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • headinherbooks says:

      Ahh thank you CW ❤️ Yes, we definitely must meet up next time you’re here! Good luck for you’re (kind of) final sem! I’m sure we’re both going to smash it 😉 AND YOUR BLOG IS AMAZING – it deserves the shoutout! Have a great August too lovely x

      Like

  3. WeeReader says:

    I’m glad you had such a great time in London! I just graduated so I know what you mean about reaching the end feeling bittersweet. I don’t know what to do with myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

